Saturdays at the Dane County Farmer’s Market

My time in the midwest is soon coming to an end, but before I go I hope to get at least another two trips in to the Dane County Farmer’s Market. One of the largest in the country, the Saturday morning market around the Capitol building here in Madison puts all others I’ve frequented to shame (sorry, Hillcrest Farmer’s Market and Union Square!). It’s a pity I’m cooking for one these days, because every time I go I just want to scoop everything up. I’m going to miss it here, if nothing else about Madison. Plus, their weekly email newsletter is just too damn cute.

Some recent buys from this weekend, and a few pics from last month’s visit:

P1040529
Half of a small loaf of cheese bread from the ridiculously popular Stella’s Bakery. Their “hot and spicy cheese bread” draws a huge crowd to their booth every week, and I finally got my first taste of this goodness yesterday. Cheese is baked right in… yum.

P1040519
Some of the offering at Brunkow Cheese of Wisconsin. Folks flock to them for their cheese curds, flavored cheddars, and fried cheese. Split a block of six-year white cheddar with some friends– great, but I’m regretting not getting the 10-year cheddar instead. If your palate can take it, it’s so worth it.

P1030696
a bounty of sugar snap peas. most of the vegetable vendors are actually Hmong and Lao refugees to the Midwest.

P1030695

P1030692

Yesterday’s haul included: aforementioned cheese bread and 6-year cheddar, a rhubarb turnover, baby bok choy, green onions, red onions, lettuce, and beefsteak tomatoes. Before I leave I’d like to pick up an Amish/Quaker pie, the crazy good jalapeno jam from The Summer Kitchen, and maybe even some honey from the loopy beehive hat-wearing vendor. We’ll see if I have the time for it, it’s crunch time now for school!

Posted on July 26, 2009, in out and about and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love farmers markets! It’s great to see all that cheese available in Wisconsin.

Leave a Reply

