Like White on Rice: June Kulinarya Cooking Club challenge

I’m back! After a crazy month and a half (school ending, fellowship writing, ankle cast on and off, and Lasik!), I’ve finally had the chance to begin enjoying my summer and cooking up a storm! Lately, it’s been a mostly liquid diet; after the mister and I came back from a fantastic May trip to New Orleans, where we sampled many amazing cocktails, we’ve been on a bit of a tear trying out new cocktail recipes at home. Still, one can’t be boozed up all the time (right?!), and I’ve been playing around with recipes, figuring out ways to make them healthier, with more organic and sustainable ingredients and so on.

This dish I just made today, however, isn’t any of those things. It’s rich, wasn’t sustainably sourced (remember what I said before, about ethnic groceries and organic food?), but damn if it wasn’t incredibly delicious:

I made this dish for this month’s Kulinarya Cooking Club challenge, which called for “white food.” There are few things I love more than fresh Jasmine rice and coconuts, and so this dish was perfect for it. Borrowing liberally from a recipe I saw a long time ago in The Adobo Book, here was my take on shrimp with sawsawang adobong gata (coconut adobo sauce).

The shrimp itself is super easy to prepare. While the recipe called for charcoal-grilled pandan-wrapped shrimp, necessity and time restrictions led me to simply pan-grilling the shrimp with liberal squirts of lemon (no calamansi either, natch).

For the adobo sauce, I basically got these ingredients

and cooked them all up together. First sauteeing the 5 cloves chopped garlic, small piece crushed luyang dilaw (turmeric), and 1 chopped red onion until translucent; then adding 2 chopped sili labuyo, 1/2 tsp bagoong alamang, 1 tbsp turbinado sugar, and a can of coconut cream (the fatty stuff!) and simmering until thick.

I bought about 1 1/2 lbs of prawns and had enough for two generous servings plus leftovers, so this recipe could serve four for a main entree if you added more side dishes. My tummy’s still full from this lunch, and next time I’m in the mood to bust my diet, this dish will definitely be high on the list!

 

 

(For more “white challenge” recipes from Kulinarya members, visit their websites linked here!)

Posted on June 26, 2011, in adventures in home cooking, Kulinarya Cooking Club and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Wow..looks yummy !

  2. I could eat a full plate of shrimp paired with steamed rice anytime!

  3. shrimp and coconut milk …… this seems heaven to me…:)

  4. Exciting flavour mix. Anything cooked with gata, bagoong and chillies is nice to me. yum.

  5. Oh, shrimp with the rich flavor or coconut milk is sinfully delicious or should I describe it as heavenly delicious? Thanks for sharing!

  6. Looks so good! Wonderful combination with shrimp and coconut milk.

  7. Love your recipe! It looks so delicious, great job!

  8. Thanks, everyone! It was one of the first times I fried shrimp with the head on– usually I just use that kind for sinigang. Glad I tried it this time, it really made the dish!

  9. It looks awesome! Unfortunately my diet precludes white foods, so I’m kind of stuck on how to do this challenge. How did the Lasik turn out?

  10. All white foods, or just starches? That is such a broad category, I don’t even know how to to begin with that!

    Still healing up from Lasik, but I’ve gone from -8.00 to 20/20 vision, so I can’t complain. It’s really incredible after years of contacts, glasses, and just bad vision!

  1. Pingback: Ginataang Mais (Corn and Sticky Rice Pudding with Coconut Milk) | my nappytales

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

